Current Temperature


July 23, 2024 July 23, 2024

AWC announces chair and vice-chair positions following AGM

Posted on May 21, 2020 by admin

The Alberta Wheat Commission (AWC) is pleased to announce its new executive following its Annual General Meeting (AGM) during FarmTech in Edmonton. Todd Hames will serve as Chair, and Hannah Konschuh will continue in her current role as Vice-Chair.

“I am honoured that my colleagues have placed their confidence in me to lead AWC’s board,” said Hames. “We have seen a particularly challenging year with the difficult harvest, low prices and market uncertainty. It’s during these times that I’m most proud to serve on AWC’s board so we can continue working toward a stronger and more profitable future for farmers.”

“The past year as Vice-Chair has been a great opportunity for me to take a leadership role in the wheat industry,” said Konschuh. “I appreciate the vote of confidence from the board in continuing in this role and I’m looking forward to the year ahead.”

Todd Hames takes over for Gary Stanford, whose final term with AWC ended following the AGM. Gary was one of AWC’s founding directors and has played a major role in building the commission’s strategic direction.

“I’ve really enjoyed my time on the board and particularly as Chair,” said Stanford. “Looking back on when the commission first began, I’m extremely proud of what we’ve accomplished from building our research portfolio to a total of more than $16.5 million invested in projects since inception, to the political progress we’ve made on files like rail transportation reform, to the ground we’ve gained with our global customers. I have great confidence that with Todd Hames’ industry experience and leadership that I am leaving AWC in great hands.”

Following the AGM, the board also officially welcomes three new directors: Dave Bartlett (Fairview) and Greg Sears (Sexsmith), both representing Region 5, and Dean Hubbard (Claresholm), representing Region 1. Dean’s position is subject to marketing council approval since he was nominated by the board to fill a vacant position following the Next Level Farming regional meetings in November.

Leave a Reply

Get More Westwind Weekly
Log In To Comment Latest Paper Subscribe