Current Temperature


July 25, 2024 July 25, 2024

Schow named deputy house leader

Posted on July 15, 2021 by admin

By Nikki Jamieson
Westwind Weekly News

Cardston-Siksika MLA Joseph Schow has been named deputy government house leader in a recent cabinet shuffle.

The move, announced in the July 8 provincial cabinet shuffle, was one of several changes that were made to help further support Alberta’s economic recovery.

Schow had previously served as deputy government whip before the change. The MLA for Leduc-Beaumont, Brad Rutherford, is taking over that role.

“Since taking office in 2019, Alberta’s United Conservative government has delivered on more than 80 per cent of our platform commitments while running the most productive legislature in Canada. As Deputy Government House Leader, I am eager to work with my colleague House Leader Jason Nixon to pass even more legislation that will create jobs, diversify our economy, and make life better for Albertans,” said Schow.

“Alberta is leading Canada out of the CO-VID-19 pandemic and into strong economic growth. This renewal of our cabinet will support Alberta’s Recovery Plan, a plan to build, to diversify the economy and to create jobs. With six new voices and strong, experienced ministers moving into important economic roles, Alberta’s government is ready to deliver a strong recovery for all Albertans,” said Premier Jason Kenney.

The changes to cabinet are: Rajan Sawhney, MLA for Calgary-North East becomes the Minister of Transportation, moving from her role as Minister of Community and Social Services.

Tanya Fir, MLA for Calgary-Peigan, becomes the Associate Minister of Red Tape Reduction.

Nate Horner, MLA for Drumheller-Stettler, becomes the Associate Minister of Rural Economic Development, under the Ministry of Jobs, Economy and Innovation.

Muhammad Yaseen, MLA for Calgary-North, becomes the Associate Minister of Immigration and Multiculturalism, under the Ministry of Labour and Immigration.

Whitney Issik, MLA for Calgary-Glenmore, becomes the Associate Minister of Status of Women, under the Ministry of Culture and Status of Women, and the chief government whip.

Ron Orr, MLA for Lacombe-Ponoka, becomes the Minister of Culture.

Mike Ellis, MLA for Calgary-West and currently the chief government whip, becomes Associate Minister of Mental Health and Addictions.

Jason Luan, MLA for Calgary-Foothills, becomes the Minister of Community and Social Services, moving from his role as the Associate Minister of Mental Health and Addictions.

Additionally, Pam Livingston has been appointed as chief of staff, and acting chief of staff Larry Kaumeyer will be returning to his previous role as principal secretary to the Premier.

“I would like to thank both Larry and Pam for their tremendous support and leadership as we navigated through the COVID-19 pandemic and I look forward to working with them as the government focuses on Alberta’s Recovery Plan and fighting for a fair deal for Albertans.”

Leave a Reply

Get More Westwind Weekly
Log In To Comment Latest Paper Subscribe