Current Temperature


July 23, 2024 July 23, 2024

KODI Awards announced

Posted on April 17, 2017 by Westwind Weekly

J.W. Schnarr
Westwind Weekly News

Two basketball stars shone as the Lethbridge College Kodiaks annual athletic awards Monday night.
Sunder West from the women’s basketball team and Chris Maughan from the men’s basketball team were named the winners of the Tim Tollestrup Leadership/Athlete of the Year awards in an event at the Val Matteotti Gymnasium.
West, a third-year player from Raymond, had an excellent regular season for the conference-champion Kodiaks, earning an Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference south division first team all-conference selection. She finished fourth in ACAC scoring, averaging 17.5 points per game.
She elevated her play in the playoffs, winning MVP honours in both the ACAC and Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association championship tournaments as the Kodiaks went undefeated and won the fourth national championship in the college’s history.
Maughan, a fourth-year player from Mesa, Az., returned to the Kodiaks following one year at the University of Lethbridge and lead the Kodiaks in scoring with 15.4 points per game, shooting percentage with 55 per cent, rebounds with 7.9 per game, and blocks with 29.
He was an ACAC south division first team all-conference selection, and an ACAC championship all-tournament team selection.
The KODI awards celebrate all aspects of the Kodiaks season, This year, the program earned more than 45 conference or national athletic and academic honours.
“It was another successful season for the Kodiaks as every sport was in a position to step onto the pitch, track or court and compete to win,” Todd Caughlin, manager of Kodiaks Athletics, stated in a recent news release.
Other notable KODI award winners were top coach Brad Karren of the women’s basketball team, who was named ACAC and CCAA coach of the year, and the women’s basketball team as top team, after winning the CCAA championship, having the highest combined team GPA and becoming actively involved in the Kodiaks community.
The Kodiaks also introduced a new student award, named after Emmalee Cherweniuk.
Cherweniuk was named newcomer of the year by the women’s volleyball team and was killed in a motor vehicle collision in March.
The $500 award, sponsored by the Kodiak Athletics Association, will be named after Emmalee and will be awarded to a Kodiaks women’s volleyball player in her honour for at least the next three years.
KODI award winners included:
KODIs major awards
Tim Tollestrup Leadership/Athlete of the Year (Male) – Chris Maughan (men’s basketball)
Tim Tollestrup Leadership/Athlete of the Year (Female) – Sunder West (women’s basketball)
Outstanding team – Women’s basketball
Kodiaks coach of the year – Brad Karren (women’s basketball)
Best championships performance – Women’s basketball at CCAA championships
Best upset – Men’s basketball in the ACAC semifinal vs. Medicine Hat at Medicine Hat
Best comeback – Women’s volleyball earning the program’s first-ever win over Red Deer
KODIs special awards
Alvin Tietz/Knud Petersen Award for women’s soccer – Brittany Klein and Kaylin Snodgrass
Alvin Tietz/Knud Petersen Award for men’s soccer – Andrew Southern and Keaton Craig
Gerry and Brian Stewart Memorial Award for cross-country – Emily Spencer and Boaz Korir
Fire Safety Award for cross-country and indoor track – Kayla Enders and Dayton Jans
Alvin Tietz/Knud Petersen Award for volleyball – Laura Serafini and Dax Whitehead
John Jasiukiewicz Award for men’s basketball – Grady Taylor
John Jasiukiewicz Award for women’s basketball – Sunder West
KODIs pillar awards
Men’s soccer
Pillar award: Logan Tataryn
Outstanding player: Andrew Southern
Newcomer: Kohl Wandyka
Women’s soccer
Pillar award: Kaylin Snodgrass
Outstanding player: Lyndee Saler
Newcomer: Madison Folk
Men’s futsal
Pillar award: Andrew Southern
Outstanding player: Keaton Craig
Newcomer: Camilo Cubides
Women’s futsal
Pillar award: Lyndee Saler
Outstanding player: Kaylin Snodgrass
Newcomer: Brooklin Bellavance
Pillar: Rachel McKenzie
Outstanding player: Boaz Korir
Newcomer: Emily Spencer
Indoor track
Pillar: Dayton Jans
Outstanding player: Kayla Enders
Newcomer: John Krause
Men’s volleyball
Pillar: Matt Primrose
Outstanding player: Dax Whitehead
Newcomer: Tony Albizotti
Women’s volleyball
Pillar: Kristine Ward
Outstanding player: Laura Serafini
Newcomer: Emmalee Cherweniuk
Men’s basketball
Pillar: Grady Taylor
Outstanding player: Cory Richardson
Newcomer: Robert Myles III
Women’s basketball
Pillar: Emma Lowry
Outstanding player: Logan Moncks
Newcomer: Shayna Mathison
Names appear as they were provided.

Leave a Reply

Get More Westwind Weekly
Log In To Comment Latest Paper Subscribe