Current Temperature


July 13, 2024 July 13, 2024

Kodiaks crown 2020 KODI Award winners

Posted on April 30, 2020 by admin

The Lethbridge College Kodiaks celebrated an abbreviated athletics season with the annual KODI Awards last week. Major award winners were announced by college and Kodiaks staff during a ceremony released on the Kodiaks social media channels.

The awards capped an incredible season for Kodiaks Athletics that included one national championship, three ACAC championships and more than 60 ACAC and CCAA honours – totals that could have been even higher had the COVID-19 pandemic not cancelled the futsal and indoor track conference championships.

“I couldn’t be prouder to be a Kodiak,” says Todd Caughlin, manager of Kodiaks Athletics. “Across the board, our teams and student-athletes achieved extraordinary results this year. We thought it was important that they still get recognized with some sort of awards ceremony, and we want them all to know how proud we are of them.”

Rookie basketball player Brock Dewsbery earned the Tim Tollestrup Leadership Student-Athlete of the Year awards. Dewsbery, a men’s basketball rookie from Raymond, earned the men’s honour. He led the Kodiaks and finished fourth in the ACAC in scoring, while being named both the ACAC player and rookie of the year. He was also named an all-Canadian. Both Dewsbery and Moser are on pace to be recognized as CCAA Academic All-Canadians.

The Three Pillars of Kodiaks Athletics – academic accountability, athletic excellence and the student-athlete experience – steer the voting on all awards. Awards are selected by members of the Kodiaks Athletics administration team and factor in the results of a public vote that had more than 425 participants.

The KODI Awards ceremony can be viewed on

Leave a Reply

Get More Westwind Weekly
Log In To Comment Latest Paper Subscribe