Current Temperature


June 18, 2024 June 18, 2024

Hunter among parliamentary secretaries sworn in

Posted on August 24, 2023 by admin

Alberta Government

Alberta’s new parliamentary secretaries have sworn an oath related to their new role during a ceremony at the Queen Elizabeth II building.

On July 13, eight new parliamentary secretaries were announced by Premier Danielle Smith. Parliamentary secretaries are important partners who will assist ministers in fulfilling initiatives the Premier tasked them with in mandate letters received last month.

In addition, the Premier has also named Justin Wright, MLA for Cypress-Medicine Hat as the government’s Military Liaison, and Nate Glubish, Minister of Technology and Innovation and MLA for Strathcona-Sherwood Park as the government’s Francophone Community Liaison.

“Each of these individuals helps to further strengthen our government team. We are committed to moving Alberta forward and they are ready to get to work to keep Albertans’ priorities at the forefront of our government. I’m excited to see what they accomplish, working closely with their ministers and ministries,” said Danielle Smith, Premier.

The parliamentary secretaries are:

• Jackie Armstrong-Homeniuk, parliamentary secretary for settlement services and Ukrainian evacuees reporting to the Minister of Immigration and Multiculturalism

• Andrew Boitchenko, parliamentary secretary for Indigenous relations, reporting to the Minister of Indigenous Relations

• Chantelle de Jonge, parliamentary secretary for affordability and utilities, reporting to the Minister of Affordability and Utilities

• Shane Getson, parliamentary secretary for economic corridor development, reporting to the Minister of Intergovernmental Relations

• Grant Hunter, parliamentary secretary for agri-food development, reporting to the Minister of Agriculture and Irrigation

• Martin Long, parliamentary secretary for rural health, reporting to the Minister of Health

• Scott Sinclair, parliamentary secretary for Indigenous policing, reporting to the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Services

• Tany Yao, parliamentary secretary for small business and northern development, reporting to the Minister of Jobs, Economy and Trade

Leave a Reply

Get More Westwind Weekly
Log In To Comment Latest Paper Subscribe